The Greene County Board of Commissioners is responsible for setting the vision and policies for Greene County’s Government. Commissioners are elected to staggered 4-year terms during even numbered years. Commissioners are elected on an at-large basis.

The Greene County Board of Commissioners has adopted an aggressive vision for the future of Greene County. County departments are expected to use the vision statement to assist in crafting work plans and budget priorities for their agencies.

Our Vision

Our vision of Greene County is a premier community in which to live, work, recreate and rear future generations. We will achieve our vision by adhering to the following important philosophies:

  • Quality Housing – We are a community with adequate, affordable and safe housing;
  • Infrastructure – Our community is a leader in infrastructure development, including water, sewer, transportation and communications;
  • Safe Communities – We are a community where all citizens feel safe in their homes and their neighborhoods;
  • Business Climate – We are a community that supports small business and industry;
  • Recreational Opportunities – We are a community with high-quality recreational and cultural opportunities available to all citizens;
  • Healthcare – We are a community that provides state of the art healthcare to all citizens.

Meet Your County Commissioners

Greene County Board of  Commissioners

Meeting Location

Greene County Operations Center, 312 SE Second Street, Snow Hill, NC



Bennie Heath

District 4

PO Box 683
Snow Hill NC 28580

James T. Shackleford, Jr.

District 1

230 Pine Street
Snow Hill, NC 28580

Ray Johnson

District 5

60 Bert Street
Snow Hill, NC 28580                                      252-414-1053   

Jerry Jones

District 3 

424 Sheppard Ferry Rd.
Snow Hill, NC 28580

Derek Burress

District 2

4158 Hwy. 13 South
Snow Hill, NC 28580

Text: 252-916-4442

Close Search Window